Himachal Tonite

Go Beyond News

Jaypee University of Information Technology

CEO directs to speed up Forms disposal process

Details about SOPs for voting through Postal Ballots

Updates pertaining to disposal of Form-6 and Form 8, (for inclusion of name in electoral rolls and shifting of residence), Electoral Photo Identity Card  (EPIC) distribution, arms deposition and Assured Minimum Facilities (AMF) are to be monitored and the reports be sent to the State Election department on daily basis; this was directed by Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Maneesh Garg, while interacting with all the District Election officers (DEOs),Superintendents of Police (SPs), AROs/SDMs and GM HRTC through video conferencing here today.

The CEO while inquiring about the pendency in disposal of the forms in few districts stated that at present the claims and objections for additions, corrections on account of shifting of address are being processed as per the directions of the Election Commission of India (ECI) and directed the DEOs to complete the process much before 14th May, the last date for disposal of forms.  He said that nearly 85% of the forms 6 received till now have been disposed off and most of the pending forms have been received during the last 7 days on account of extensive awareness efforts and outreach activities being done by the election machinery, which will also be disposed off in time and included in the electoral roll. He also directed that the permanent AMF facilities should be ensured at all polling stations which include proper signage, drinking water facilities, proper light, ramps, washrooms, adequate furniture etc.

Sh. Garg while detailing about the Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) for voting through Postal ballots stated that as per the new norms of ECI, a voter on election duty shall be provided postal ballot to cast his/her vote at the facilitation centre only set up by the AROs concerned and not in any other manner.

The detailed SOPs describes in detail the steps involved from applying for postal ballots/Election Duty Certificates (EDC) to issuance of same by the AROs, casting of votes at the voter facilitation centres and finally ensuring that the casted ballots reach the counting centres in time.  This facility will apply to the police personnel, drivers and conductors, polling personnel and other staff deputed on election duty.

He said that all polling parties shall vote at the respective ‘Voter Facilitation Centre’ set up at the ‘training venues’ on 23-25th May and 30-31st May, whereas the other voters on election duty other than the polling parties viz: the police personnel, videographers, drivers, conductors, cleaners and other staff engaged in election duty shall vote at the facilitation centre set up at the RO/AROs office three days prior to polling date i.e. from 29-31st May, stated the CEO.

Sh. Garg also directed to ensure adequate number of voting compartments and other arrangements at each facilitation centre to enable the voters on the election duty to mark their postal ballot.

He also reviewed the arms deposition status and issued necessary directions to all SPs to complete 100% arms deposition by 7th May, excluding exempted arms. Till date, 84.4 percent of arms have been deposited throughout the State.

Directions were also issued to all the ROs to make advance preparations for receiving and checking of nomination forms. As per procedure, ROs will issue notice of election in Form-1 well before 11 A.M on 7th May. He also directed them to update Form 3-A, related to nomination every day and upload before 3.15 PM on election portals. He also asked them to carefully scrutinize form 7-A, containing the list of the contesting candidates after the withdrawals and send copies of the same to the CEO office by 3:30 PM on the 17th of May.  They were also asked to ensure sending of ETPBS for service personnel through the portal and printing of postal ballots for different categories and sending to concerned AROs within 48 hours of withdrawal hours.

The CEO also addressed different queries as raised by the DEOs/AROs pertaining to smooth conduct of elections.

Present during the occasion were Additional Chief Electoral Officers, Dalip Negi and Neelam Dulta amongst other officers and officials of the election department.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *