Himachal Tonite

Go Beyond News

Jaypee University of Information Technology

Bishop Cotton School holds 21st Teen Cricket championships


The 21st Major R K Von Goldstein Memorial Inter-School Cricket Tournament 2024

Some of the most prestigious schools in the country are meeting at Bishop Cotton School, Shimla for the 21st Inter-school Goldstein Cricket tournament. This year the standard of play is outstanding

The eight teams come from five different states across India and include Bishop Cotton, Shimla, Bishop Cotton Boys School, Bangalore, Mayo College, La Martiniere Lucknow, Daly College, Vasant Valley, YPS Mohali and Pinegrove.

The tournament began on Sunday at 6am with a traditional march past heralded by the BCS brass band.  Hosts BCS then won a thrilling encounter with Pinegrove by one wicket.  The nail-biting opening match had the supporters on the edge of their seats as the game could have gone either way and was streamed live on the school’s Facebook account to supporters around the world – with messages of support coming in globally.  Three matches will be played each day before the grand final on Thursday 25th April.

The BCS Director Mr Simon Weale inaugurated the start of the tournament, a keen cricketer himself, he said; “We are thrilled to hold such a showcase for young cricketing talent in India.  Mayank Dagar represented BCS in this tournament and is now playing in the IPL.  We have many other young players here with the ability to follow him to the top”.

Mayank Dagar of the RCB franchise remembers the tournament fondly “Winning games for my school was the best feeling especially in the Goldstein tournament, I was pumped up to win for school for BCS – and that’s where they saw my talent. I went on to play for the HP State team and got my break into the Under 19 World Cup team followed by IPL and Ranji Trophy.”

Tournament information

Major R K Von Goldstein was a former Headmaster and the only former student who became a Head of Bishop Cotton School, Shimla – (Headship from 1963 – 1976) He was also a Cambridge Scholar.

Taking part in this year’s 21st Major R K Von Goldstein Memorial Inter School Goldstein Cricket contest are eight schools from five different states across India:

Bishop Cotton Boys, Bangalore

The Daly College, Indore

La Martinere, Lucknow

Pinegrove School, Dharampur

Mayo College, Ajmer

Vasant Valley School, Delhi

Yadvindra Public School, Mohali

Bishop Cotton School, Shimla

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *