Himachal Tonite

Go Beyond News

Schedule and Guidelines for Bye-Elections in Himachal Pradesh

1 min read

SHIMLA 10th June, 2024

Chief Electoral Officer Maneesh Garg today here informed that the Election Commission of India has scheduled bye-elections to fill vacancies in 13 Assembly Constituencies across seven states. In addition to constituencies in Bihar, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Madhya Pradesh, Uttarakhand, and Punjab, bye-elections will also be held in three Assembly Constituencies of Himachal Pradesh: Dehra (District Kangra), Hamirpur (District Hamirpur) and Nalagarh (District Solan).
The detailed schedule for the bye-elections in Dehra, Hamirpur and Nalagarh Assembly Constituencies of Himachal Pradesh is as follows:
The gazette notification will be issued on 14th June, 2024 (Friday) and the last date of filing nominations is 21st June, 2024 (Friday). The date for scrutiny of nominations is 24th June, 2024 (Monday) and the last date for withdrawal of candidatures is 26th June, 2024 (Wednesday).
He further informed that the polling will be held on 10th July, 2024 (Wednesday) whereas the date of counting is 13th July, 2024 (Saturday). He informed that the date before which election shall be completed is 15th July, 2024 (Monday).
The Chief Electoral Officer said that the Model Code of Conduct shall come into force with immediate effect in these districts. He also emphasized the importance of adherence to the Model Code of Conduct during this period. He urged all political parties, candidates, and stakeholders to ensure fair and peaceful elections. Detailed guidelines and instructions would be issued from time to time to ensure smooth conduct of the election process.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *